Charter Schools Related schools coverage »

New board of directors readies to take over two Algiers charter schools

The newly formed permanent board of directors for Edna Karr Charter High School and Alice M. Harte Charter School met Monday night to approve an operating contract with the Orleans Parish School Board and amend the previous founding board’s by-laws.

InspireNOLA will oversee the two schools, previously under Algiers Charter Schools Association oversight, effective July 1. OPSB announced last year that it  would be taking direct control of the two schools, although ACSA continued to manage them through the end of the previous academic year.

ACSA will continue to provide human resources and accounting support this year. Board member Kim Baptiste said they decided to stay with the ACSA operating principles to simplify the partnership and because there were no internal control issues with the system.

The board elected Matthew Broussard, Jay Daniels and MaryJo Roberts as new board members. They also accepted the resignation of founding board member Dahme Bolden, the former principal of William J. Fischer Accelerated Academy who recently accepted a new position with ACSA.

The board amended the bylaws so that all members would serve two-year terms with a two-term limit. Officers will be elected to a one-year term with a two-term limit. Alicia Bendana said the terms and limits are based on best practices at other schools.

The next board meeting will be July 29 at 5:30 p.m. at Harte.

Help us report this story     Report an error    
The Lens' donors and partners may be mentioned or have a stake in the stories we cover.
  • nickelndime

    Something smells rotten on the Westbank and the Eastbank. I guess “rotten” knows how to cross bridges. And this was before the tolls were removed. So tell me again, how did “Inspire NOLA Charter Schools” (Charter No. 40903053N) get approved by the OPSB in 2012 to run Karr and Harte? Lookie here: Darryl was superintendent. Stan was CFO. And Kathleen was the Deputy Superintendent of Charter Schools for the OPSB. Yes, yes, I understand that Karr and Harte wil no longer be managed by the ACSA, but because it is “fledging,” it would be helped by the ACSA. What?!! I would hardly call anything that Alicia Bendana is the director of, “fledgling,” so who and what is the connection? (1) By Kelsey Foster, Charter school reporter August 24, 2012 2:45pm THE LENS “The board also approved negotiations with Inspire NOLA, the charter organization that will take over Edna Karr and Alice M. Harte under Orleans Parish School Board supervision. ACSA will discuss offering the fledging organization initial operational support including: school lunches, transportation, and financial reporting services.”
    (2) Orleans Parish School Board committee approves one new charter, denies another
    By Danielle Dreilinger, | The Times-Picayune The Times-Picayune
    on November 15, 2012 at 8:25 PM, updated November 19, 2012 at 2:26 PM
    “Starting July 2013, the Harte and Karr schools will be Type 3 open-admission charters with their authorization coming directly from the Orleans Parish School Board.”
    Hello, Alicia M. Bendana!
    Bankruptcy and Commercial Litigation Attorney
    Of Counsel
    Lowe, Stein, Hoffman, Allweiss
    & Hauver, L.L.P.
    New Orleans, LA U.S.A.
    Here’s the finale:
    “…resignation of founding board member Dahme Bolden, the former principal of William J. Fischer Accelerated Academy who recently accepted a new position with ACSA.”