The head of Lycée Français de la Nouvelle-Orléans’ nominating committee will recommend three new board members to the school’s full governing board on Monday.

Ann Meese, Tessa Jackson and Courtney Garrett made the cut during the committee’s deliberations Wednesday, which I live-blogged below.

Meese is a retired school administrator, Garrett serves as director of finance and chief financial officer at Health Data Specialists in Luling, and Jackson is an officer with AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust.

Jeff Teague, head of the nominating committee, led Wednesday’s discussion, which followed two days of interviews — three candidates were questioned on Monday and an additional three on Tuesday.

Committee member Catherine MacPhaille, who also sits on the full board, asked whether the panel would recommend a slate or individual candidates.

As a matter of process, Teague said, the committee would recommend a slate as they did in the past. Whether the board assesses each candidate individually or as a slate will be left to the board, Teague said.

When Teague brought the slate of six names to the board’s April meeting, the board voted to break up the slate and review candidates individually. While within the board’s ability, that decision seemed to rattle both nominating committee members and parents who said they were surprised by the move.

The board will discuss the nominating committee’s recommendations at Monday at 6:30 p.m. at the school, 5951 Patton St.

Immediately, Lycée’s 10-person board has room for one more member. But five of those people will roll off the board on June 30, when their terms expire. The school must have at least seven to 11 people on its governing board in order to be in compliance with state law and its own bylaws.

Live blog

Marta Jewson

Marta Jewson covers education in New Orleans for The Lens. She began her reporting career covering charter schools for The Lens and helped found the hyperlocal news site Mid-City Messenger. Jewson returned...