Will board say yes or no to Orleans Parish School Board control?

Print More

The Algiers Charter Schools Association board is poised to vote tomorrow on whether or not to recommend three schools return to Orleans Parish School Board control.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Academy, Martin Behrman Elementary School and O. Perry Walker Senior High School are each eligible to leave the Recovery School District due to their students’ improved performance on the state’s standardized tests.

Faculty, staff and parents of O. Perry Walker and Behrman have been outspoken in their opposition to the Recovery School District and have spent months pleading with board members to let them return to the Orleans Parish School Board.

The highly anticipated meeting, which comes five days before the board’s deadline to decide, is set for 6 p.m. at the Fischer Accelerated Learning Academy, 1801 Whitney Ave. See the agenda here.


Help us report this story     Report an error    
The Lens' donors and partners may be mentioned or have a stake in the stories we cover.