Lens wins 10 Press Club awards, including four first-place trophies

Print More

The Lens was honored with four top awards at the Press Club of New Orleans 2016 Excellence in Journalism Awards this weekend.

The Lens also garnered five second-place awards, and one third-place award.

Here are the categories and winners of first-place trophies:

  • Investigative Writing, staff writer Marta Jewson, for a story about how SciTech charter-school leaders let students take test for each other and at home.
  • Digital Innovation, news technologist Thomas Thoren, for an unmatched live map showing how every precinct in the state voted in the governor’s race. This map updated throughout the night as soon as results were made available by the Secretary of State’s Office.
  • Web Graphics and Animation, The Lens staff, for Missing Home, an interactive  Katrina-anniversary piece that looked at demolitions across the city since the storm. This was co-published with The Nation magazine.
  • Digital Media Special Sections, Lens staff writer Bob Marshall, freelance photographer Edmund Fountain and freelance writer Katy Reckdahl, for their work participation in a collection of stories produced on The Weather Channel’s website, weather.com.

Certificates for second-place were given for:

The full list of winners is here.

Help us report this story     Report an error    
The Lens' donors and partners may be mentioned or have a stake in the stories we cover.