The state Department of Education today released the list of New Orleans schools eligible to participate in its voucher program.

The program, called the Scholarships for Educational Excellence Program, has for the past three years offered low-income students from low-performing public schools the chance to attend the private school of their choice, with the state paying the bill for tuition and fees.

Students at Success Prep may be available for private-school vouchers under a state program.

Although the program is available only to New Orleans students, a recent vote by the state education board solidified Gov. Bobby Jindal’s recent efforts to expand the program statewide. Pending approval from the Legislature this spring, the program could draw funding from the pool of cash that the state doles out to districts as early as next school year.

The following schools are eligible:

  • Lagniappe Academies of New Orleans
  • Batiste Cultural Arts Academy at Live Oak Elementary
  • SciTech Academy at Laurel Elementary
  • Success Preparatory Academy
  • Benjamin E. Mays Preparatory School
  • Pride College Preparatory Academy
  • Esperanza Charter School
  • McDonogh #42 Elementary Charter School
  • McDonogh #32 Elementary School
  • Joseph A. Craig School
  • Dr. Charles Richard Drew Elementary School
  • Paul B. Habans Elementary School
  • Murray Henderson Elementary School
  • Schwarz Alternative School
  • John Dibert Community School

To be eligible, students must be entering kindergarten through seventh grade. The registration process for the program is March 9-13. Applicants can bring completed applications to the Lindy C. Boggs International Conference Center on 2045 Lakeshore Drive. Eligible students who do not receive a scholarship will be placed on a waiting list.

Jessica Williams

Jessica Williams stays on top of the city's loosely organized collection of public schools, with a special emphasis on charter schools. In 2011 she was recognized by the Press Club of New Orleans for her...